• 89lp63 10:49 am on April 24, 2012 Permalink Reply  

    Read This Before Naming Your Startup

    Read This Before Naming Your Startup.

    I’ve learned a lot from the development of NameLayer, and I’m ready to divulge every trick in my arsenal. In this guide, I provide realistic solutions to the frustrations encountered when naming a company. Plus, I’ll have some fun analyzing both good and bad company names.

    This guide is divided into three, independent sections: Why Bad Names Hurt You, Coming Up With Names, and Examples of Strong and Weak Names.

    Why Bad Names Hurt You

    If you don’t need to be convinced that a good name is important, skip to the next section. That’s where the juicy stuff begins.

    Almost every bad naming decision can be traced back to one or more of the following attitudes. You must learn to recognize them:

    • Mobile: “It’s a mobile app. Who cares what the name is. If people recognize the icon on their dashboard, then that’s all the brand recognition we need. It’s the mobile Web, baby! Get ready for the revolution.”
    • Settling: “There’s a shortage of good names. Consequently, consumers are getting used to silly ‘Web 2.0 names. They only care about the product.”
    • Politics: “I won’t spend more than the cost of a domain’s registration fees. Domain squatters are pirates, and I would never pay their inflated prices with my hard-earned money.”
    • Tired: “To be completely honest, I’m just short on ideas. I think I’ll stick with the one I like best so far and just prefix ‘get’ or ‘try’ to my domain name. Later, when we’re big, we’ll buy the official domain. (On the surface, this is one of the better excuses, but we’ll deconstruct this approach at the end of this section.)
    • Short-Sighted: “What are you talking about? Our name is loaded with meaning. It has a very rich and personal history amongst the team. It represents us.”
    • Deprioritizing: “I’m building a business with many more important tasks that need my attention. I refuse to spend more than two meetings talking about our naming options.”
    • Naïve: “Pff! I’m a pretty creative person. I can easily come up with something hip and original. I see companies with decent names like Zobonko and Furtzii – I can do even better than that!”
    • Stuck: “Honestly, we brainstormed for ages. We couldn’t find anything we loved.”

    shutterstock 97686605 520x345 Before naming your startup, read this.

     

    Reply

    Required fields are marked *

c
Compose new post
j
Next post/Next comment
k
Previous post/Previous comment
r
Reply
e
Edit
o
Show/Hide comments
t
Go to top
l
Go to login
h
Show/Hide help
shift + esc
Cancel
